This is a mirror of the now defunct eesite ASOIAF webboard.

The discussions for G.R.R. Martin's awesome series "A Song of Ice and Fire" are now being held at: Current ASoIaF Webboard

You cannot post new messages to this board. Go to the Current ASoIaF Webboard for the most current discussions.

A Song of Ice and Fire / Announcements / Board Problems

Next 20 Messages
Ran
User ID: 0867924
Jan 30th 7:02 AM
The problem with recent board errors seem to be worse than I expected. Deleting low-volume, unused threads doesn't seem to help. The error, which seems to be a problem with the CGI scripts, causes posts to be cut off or to show no text at all, but still "count" as a post without actually changing the post counter.

It seems, in part, to be linked with post size. It also seems to be linked to thread creation. I've taken the measure of contacting Echelon and seeing if they can do anything about it.
Lirvon
User ID: 0903294
Jan 30th 8:28 PM
I am new to this particular board, having found it by looking for communities/information/etc about GRRM and ASOIAF.

Anyway - to the reason I decided to make a post:
I have used Echelon boards before, and I have seen the problem any posts in a particular thread being blank after a certain point, as you have just described, before...

I have no idea what causes it, but I have doubts that it has anything to do with the size of posts or the number of threads, as I have seen some very large posts before that havn't caused any problems, and when a board is full the bottom thread disappears when a new one is created...

Whatever causes it, in my experience when a thread becomes 'broken' there is nothing that can be done to fix it to allow for further postings, and the easiest solution to simply to create a new thread...