This is a mirror of the now defunct eesite ASOIAF webboard.

The discussions for G.R.R. Martin's awesome series "A Song of Ice and Fire" are now being held at: Current ASoIaF Webboard

You cannot post new messages to this board. Go to the Current ASoIaF Webboard for the most current discussions.

A Song of Ice and Fire/ The Hedge Knight / Evidence of Dunk

Karelian
User ID: 1167284
Jun 15th 10:37 AM
Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum, but I've been reading avidly for awhile :)

Anyhow, I found something that shows evidence of Dunk's future lineage in aGoT

Pg. 419, end of the 2nd paragraph. Catelyn has Tyrion at the Eyrie and he's about to have trial by combat:

Tyrion noted Ser Lyn Corbray, slender as a sword, Lord Hunter with his gouty legs, the widowed Lady Waynwood surrounded by her sons. Other sported sigils he did not know; broken lance, green viper, burning tower, winged chalice.

Winged chalice :) Could it be Dunk took his old master's sigil, and ended up in the Vale with some land and a nice lady-friend? :) Anyhoo... I just thought I'd point it out
Ran
User ID: 0867924
Jun 15th 10:41 AM
The winged chalice is that of House Hersy of Newkeep (a white winged chalice on pink.) I suppose the difference might account for things, and Newkeep is certainly about the right sound to it, but . . . I don't know. He already had arms. Reverting to Ser Arlan's arms, differenced with the pink field, would seem strange to me. Especially after Baelor had told him he had to pick a new shield.
Ran
Jun 15th 10:42 AM
Let me add, belatedly, that a full listing of houses and their heraldry (with only a couple of omissions) is available at:

www.westeros.org/Heraldry/Banners.html

:)
Ser Gary
User ID: 1523284
Jun 15th 12:34 PM
I didn't really have anything to say here, I just wanted to be the 100th poster under this heading.

:)

Ser Gary
Emily
User ID: 2192024
Jun 15th 12:37 PM
*Stares at Ser Gary and shakes head sadly*
Ser Gary
User ID: 1523284
Jun 15th 1:30 PM