This is a mirror of the now defunct eesite ASOIAF webboard.

The discussions for G.R.R. Martin's awesome series "A Song of Ice and Fire" are now being held at: Current ASoIaF Webboard

You cannot post new messages to this board. Go to the Current ASoIaF Webboard for the most current discussions.

A Song of Ice and Fire / A Song of Ice and Fire / Is it-all- Medieval?

LindaElane
User ID: 0276214
Jun 11th 10:37 PM
I was having an interesting discussion with a friend online tonight. It was her opinion that A Song of Ice and Fire is all medieval. (Well, except for the "magic" bits, since we assume there was no magic then.) It was mine that George is not writing about a 100 percent medieval place.

I am not an expert, so before expounding on this at great length and giving examples I brought up, I wanted to ask for the thoughts of others. Other than the "magic" elements, can you think of ways in which this series is different from the middle ages, or is it all medieval?
LindaElane
Jun 11th 10:42 PM
Oh, I should mention that my friend had to go before either of us could give reasons for our belief, so thats one reason I am putting the discussion here.
Street Prophet
User ID: 2107894
Jun 12th 1:06 AM
I'm sorry, what's the difference between Middle Ages and Medieval setting?
Omer
User ID: 9551723
Jun 12th 2:41 AM
The most obvious difference, for me at least, is the lack of a single strong, dominante belief in westereos the way Xianty was in the middle ages. In westereos, Religion as such has a relatively insignificent role, and there is much more religiously tolarent.
gad
User ID: 8736803
Jun 12th 7:57 AM