My Hifi Journey

The 4 phases of the hifi syndrome in my life can be catagorised as follows:

The poor student

I have been interested in hifi for as long as I can remember. As a poor university student, I spent much of my time listening to a cheap system in my dorm room.

I was so poor in those days that I lived on a pair of Koss headphones plugged into a Sony cassette player. During my second year at the University, (twas 1982), I had access to the one of the two pioneer CD players: the Sony CDP101. It was a vast improvement over the cassette, but was far behind most turntables of the day. Remember this was the early 80s, and the Linn Sondek LP12 
Ivor's LP12, shown here with the Itokk arm. was King (reigning supreme with the less affordable Goldmund Reference).

The CDP101 was played via a cheap IC Sony integrated amplifier into a pair of $50 Sony speakers. It was nasty, but it made music...at least much better than the $200 mini-systems which began to sprout then, the most popular amongst my peers was the $500 Hitachi TRK5150. 

Now bring out the hifi!

After graduation, I bought the first sensible hifi with my first pay cheque. It was a very modest Technics SLP1100 CD player, a used Thorens 125 turntable with a SME 3009mk2 arm and a Goldring 1040 cartidge. It was plugged into a Rotel pre/power combination (putting out a claimed 75wpc) into a Magneplanar MG1B speaker. Cables were generic.

I later changed the CD player to a Kinergetics player, with a variable volume control. This was used in conjunction with an Adcom GFA555 (200wpc poweramp) and the said Magnepan MG1B. 

The high end!