KILLED AT OXENHOLME STATION
(11th September 1880)

An accident happened today week at Oxenholme , a waller named Stewardson Martin Who had been at the alterations to the station have now been going on for some time. From the evidence it would seem that the deceased was counting his wages as he was crossing the line when a train came slowly up, and before he could get upon the platform knocked him down and shattered his leg badly and hurt him otherwise. The deceased was taken to the Kendal Hospital where he died during the night, after his leg had been amputated. The following evidence was given, Mary Martin, yard, 94 Kirkland, deposed , Stewardson Martin was my husband He was fifty years of age, He was a waller by trade and in the employment of the contractor for the additions to Oxenholme Station. Joseph McKeons of 118 Silk St Manchester, joiners labourer deposed I am working at Oxenholme Station, At a few minutes past twelve o'clock at noon on Saturday last, I was standing at the south end of the platform at Oxenholme Station near the booking office I saw the deceased he had just received his wage at the office of the contractor at the south end of the station and proceeded to cross the line He walked into the six foot and appeared to be counting his money . When in the six foot he suddenly stopped and appeared to be going to turn round to go back the same way, Just at that moment the train came up and as he turned round he saw it and endeavoured to proceed to get across and out of the way. Just as he was getting on the parapet wall on the west side the engine caught him and knocked him down between the parapet and the rails, and he lay there until the train had passed. I went to his assistance and deceased was immediately removed to the hospital. The train from the south was slackening speed as it came up to the deceased, and stopped within forty yards of the place. I was too far away, and could not hear any whistle. I did not see the train coming from the south