Why the West Wight Potter?

Joe McWilliams
[email protected]
"Zephyr" #1511

Ever since that first sail on a blustery overcast winter's day 30 years ago, sailing has always held a strong attraction for me. In my imagination the sailboat is a symbol of romance, high adventure and excitement. Over the years I've owned only small sailboats, all under 16 feet in length. Like most of us, I've dreamed of 30 foot cruisers and sailing away to exotic shores, but, also like most of us, I knew that the reality of costs, storage, repairs and, most important, time would not allow me to live these dreams. So I decided early on to seek out boats that maximized utility in the minimum space.

The first time I saw a West Wight Potter, I was sailing the Laguna Madre off South Padre Island near Brownsville, Texas. I had been sailing a 14' gaff rigged cat boat for a few years. It was a great boat, roomy, stable, fun to sail and easy to trailer and rig. It had only one major fault. I had begun exploring the northern reaches of the bay and wanted a boat I could sleep in for a night or two. The catboat had a large open cockpit, but it's layout wouldn't allow one to stretch out and sleep, even under a boom tent. When I saw that little Potter out on the bay that sunny afternoon, I fell in love immediately. I didn't fall in love with her lines (the Potter isn't a pretty boat in my opinion), I fell in love with the concept. Here was an extremely shallow draft boat that would allow exploring the thin waters of the edges of the bay, permit sleeping and carrying gear out of the weather, was easy to trailer and launch and stable to boot. I wanted a West Wight Potter. Especially after I looked up the definition of the British "potter", meaning to poke, and the American variation "putter", meaning to move or act aimlessly or idly. This described my kind of sailing to a tee. Here was a boat designed for me.