This article originally appeared in Timezone forum, posted by Peter Chong on October 23, 1997 at 15:58:53:

Continuing the thread started in Timezone forum, there was a query on why I said that the Glashutte movement seems a few notches below the Lange.

To begin, I am not an expert on any of these watches, neither am I a watchmaker. I am not affiliated to any of these brands. My sole experience with the Glashutte was about half an hour examining a limited range, lupe in eye. My interest was mainly on the handwounds. I did this at a shop in Frankfurt Am Main called Christ, on the main road Kaiserstrasse. I looked at the 1845 Perpectual in gold, and in steel, and the 1845. Both these sport the caliber 49 movement.

While I have spent siginificantly much longer time looking at the Langes, I am, by no stretch of imagination an expert.

Comparing the Glashutte Perpectual to the Lange 1, as these appear to be in the same price range: about DM28,000 inclusive of German VAT.

The similarities

The Saxony mark of watchmaking is evident in both watches. The construction of the movement, examined under a 15X loupe is similar.

Both use the 3/4 plate movement. The use of this movement was traditionally reserved for pocket watches, where the caliber is larger. It is extremely difficult to build a wrist-watch with this large plate, as any small imperfection in the movememt will cause problems with fit of the clockwork within. In contrast a multi-bridge approach, used in almost all other watches are more tolerant.

Both use a whiplash micrometer regulator, and a screwed balance wheel.

Both plates are finished with the Glashutte stripes...akin to Geneva stripes.

Both show exposed rubies with gold chatons held by blued steel screws.

The Glashutte 1845 Ewiger Kalendar

The differences