My Story, such as it is...

On my mother's side, the family came out of the foothills of the Missouri Ozarks between Cabool and Houstonbut I was raised in the small town of Tillamook, Oregon, backin the late forties, where I attended Tillamook High School, graduatingin 1966. It was with pleasure that I graduated and left the schoolbecause the school's team name was the "Cheesemakers".Now, if that doesn't strike fear in the hearts of the opponentswho are named the 'Tigers", or the "Huns", or the"Panthers", I don't know what will!

After leaving high school, I worked that summer for the OregonHighway Dept as an engineer's aide (4 syllable phrase for gopher),started college at Astoria, OR, and then was given an offer Ijust felt powerless to refuse; this was an invitation from myUncle Sam to join the U.S.Army. For stories about the Army, click here.

After returning home, and thawing out, I attended Mt. Hood CommunityCollege and received dual Associate of Science degrees; one inBusiness Administration and the other in Applied Science. Withthis sort of training I was able to obtain gainful employment in a sheet-metalshop where I was trained in sweeping up the floor and performingsundry other similarly vital tasks. Eventually, however, my geniuswas recognized and I was promoted up, step by step, until I finallytook over the shop as the production manager.

During this same time, I also continued attending school and became certified as an optician and also attended the Washington County(Oregon) Sheriff's Office academy and became a reserve deputy for them.

Click here to see me in uniform!