40K 3rd Ed Q&A File 1.0

As promised/threatened, here is the Q&A file for 3rd Ed. All info is from the Studio, so it is as good as it can get until it appears in White Dwarf. It also covers some Q's from the new Space Marine Codex as well, plus some typo's found in the main rulebook.

******

Last Update: 10/28/98

New 40K Q&A From the E-Desks of The Studio

FROM THE MAIN RULEBOOK

Vehicles

1) In the commentary on Tank Shock, in the "Ultimate Secrets" section, it says that a tank cannot try to shock models in close combat. If a squad has three members in base contact, can a tank try to shock the members not in contact?

No. The entire squad is taken to be in combat and therefor cannot be the target of Tank Shock.

2) If a model is run over by the left track of a predator (or whatever) using Tank Shock, can the model get out of the way to the right of the tank, passing under the tank to do so?

This is down to whatever local conventions you want to adopt. The rule is that models resume their positions when the tank passes.

3) Must a model be moved out of the way of Tank Shock in the direction that keeps it under the tank for the least amount of time (in other words, must it take the shortest path out from under the tank)?

Seems like a decent convention but it ain't what the rules say.

4) If you move a vehicle exactly 12", can you disembark from that vehicle (the example says less than 12" and the rules state as long as it didn't move more than 12")?

If you move 12" you may disembark.

5) Can troops assault after disembarking from a vehicle that has moved no more than 12"?

Yes they can (and jolly effective it is too!).

6) Can a character riding a Juggernaught be transported in a Rhino?

No he can't!

7) Smoke Launchers convert a Penetrating Hit into a Glancing Hit. If the weapon that hits is an Ordnance weapon, would the damage roll be on the Glancing Hit or Ordnance Hit table?

Glancing Hit.

8) Ditto for if a vehicle is Hull Down.

Glancing Hit.

9) Line Of Sight from sponsons is drawn from the weapon to the target, and there are no "fire arcs" on tanks now?

Not as such. Instead you must turn the gun so it points at the target. If the gun is glued in place we just assume it could turn as far as it could if it were not glued up. In other words, use 'real' fire arcs based on the model.

Shooting

1) Can shots from a flamer be repositioned as blast markers can? If not, is it intentional that players, to pick out specific models, can use flamers, or does the targeted player have the option of removing different models?

No, the flamer can't be repositioned. The idea is that you can (using a WW2 simile) use a flame thrower to knock out a machine gun nest rather than the infantry squad it's with. As these are very short ranged weapons it seemed a suitable reward for getting into a position to use them.  Also bear in mind that the flamer template must be placed so that it will affect the maximum number of models in the target unit.

2) There are 10 Orks in the squad that some Marines are shooting at. Five Orks are in cover, five are not. The Marines roll to hit with 10 dice, scoring 8 hits (good shot!). Of these 7 wound. This means that 7 saves need to be taken. According to the rules: "...the owning player has to remove casualties from amongst the models in the open first until there are none left..."

Right, to use your example the Orks in the open would get no save and be removed (bolters AP5, Ork save 6= no save) and then two Orks in cover would get a cover save.

The problem is that the save still needs to be taken before any casualties are removed at all. The Orks have, let's say, a save of 6. The ones in cover have a cover save of 5+. Does the whole squad get the cover modifier?

Simply take hits and make armour saves as appropriate for the ones in the open, and then if any wounds are left over apply them to models in cover and make appropriate cover or armour saves (which ever is better) for them.

3) When repositioning the blast marker in your unit after an opponent has hit it, can you reposition it so that it covers the same number of models within your unit plus one or more from his side?

Yes you can.

4) Does a twin-linked heavy bolter get:
a) 3 shots re-rolling misses
or
b) 6 shots re-rolling misses
when it shoots?

The answer is a. Twin linking (aka just plain linking) does not increase the number of shots the player rolls for, but rather, allows the player to re-roll misses.

5) When a unit fires multiple blast templates on the enemy (say a Devastator squad firing 4 frag missiles), and all the missiles hit, would the templates be worked out one at a time, or all at the same time in some manner?

We recommend resolving each blast one after the other as the best course, but other options are equally as viable as long as the players are happy.

6) If a barrage lands in HtH, does everyone underneath get hit?

Yes.

Assaults

1) Do power weapons other than a power fist have any increased effect on vehicles?

No. Power weapons only have bonus affects against things with armour saving throws.

2) For determining the results of close combat, do models that were not in contact (or for that matter not even within 2") count for "outnumbering" the loser?

Example:
1 Ork in mega armor and a mob of 30 Gretchin assault 5 Eldar. The Ork contacts 4 Eldar models (hey, it could happen), but only one Gretchin manages to make it into contact, with one other being 2" away from an Eldar model. If the Eldar kill 2 Gretchin but not the Ork, and the Ork kills 3 Eldar, are the Eldar outnumbered (and by quite a margin!) or not (seeing as
now the Ork is the only model in contact with Eldar)?

Yes. Outnumbering is done on a unit vs unit basis, so even if one model from each unit is fighting, they'll get the benfit of all their buddies backing them up when it comes to intimidating the opposition. Likewise if the models actually fighting are killed but there are a million more of them in the unit, they'll still outnumber the unit they were fighting.

3) When determining if a side is outnumbered, is it worked out on a squad for squad basis or as a whole per side?

Example:
I have five 5 man squads assaulting three 10 man squads and a dreadnought and the whole thing is all intermingled, do I outnumber the "side" with 31 models if I win with my "side" of 25 models?

Work it out as whole sides, just like totaling up wounds inflicted in multiple combats (p69). In this case, the losing side (with 31 models) is not outnumbered.

4) When a model is moving in to assault, can it pass "through" other models, friend or foe, to get into base to base contact, or must it move around interposing models to get around to a spot where he can contact the enemy's base?

Here's a diagram to illustrate what the question asks:

              e  E   e
          XXXXBAXXX
                  C

X,A, & B = friendly models
e = enemy trooper
E = a different enemy that model C wants to hurt very much
C = a vengeful friendly model

Can model C go "though" B and A to hit model E, (since if he goes around he may not get into base contact)?

He would have to go around and engage the closest unengaged enemy model via the shortest possible route - e rather than E

5) The book states that in an assault, models more than 2" away from the enemy can only be removed as casualties once all the models in base contact and all models within 2" of an enemy have been removed. This can lead to an interesting situation that seems to not be covered.

Example:
Let's say that a squad of 9 Chaos Veterans and character in Terminator armor are assaulted by some Orks. The character and three Veterans are contacted, each being touched by one Ork. The Orks do quite well and manage to inflict 5 unsaved wounds on Veterans. The character in Terminator armor is unscathed. According to what is written, only two Veterans are removed since the Terminator is still in contact, thus precluding the removal of any models more than 2" away from the attackers.

All the models within 2" of the attackers (not just in base contact) would be potential casualties even if the Terminator survives.

6) Models within 2" of the enemy are allowed to fight in close combat, getting just one attack. Does this one attack have to be made against one the enemy models he is within 2" of?

Yes.

7) If he is within 2" of two different models with varying skills and/or abilities, does he get to pick which to attack?

He would be able to pick a target just like someone in base to base contact.

8) Under shooting, it says that models with multiple wounds are removed once the squad takes enough wounds to eliminate one whole model. Does the same apply in hand to hand?

Example:
3 Nurglings fight one on one, against 3 Marines. Each Marine does one wound on his stand of Nurglings before the Nurglings get to attack.

a) Does one stand go away?

Yes. How the wounds are suffered makes no difference, the same rule applies (note that the rule doesn't specify shooting as the source of the wounds, just wounds suffered).

b) If one is removed, does the (in this case) Nurgle player get to pick which one?

Yes, standard rules apply.

c) If the Nurglings were facing off against a Marine Captain, a normal Marine, and a Techmarine instead of just three marines, could the Chaos player remove the Nurgling facing the normal Marine so that other two can still be fought? Because there are different weapon skills involved, and there were different to hit rolls, it would seem odd to remove just any old Nurgling.

The Chaos player would get to remove the stand he wants, except that characters can always force the actual model they are touching to be removed as a casualty.

9) Do models that are not in base contact in an assault get to use their special combat rules and/or weapons for that one attack the get? (Banshee mask to allow a Banshee to go first and use their power weapon to strike, for example).

P66 "In all cases models can only use their special attacks if they are in base to base contact with the enemy"

Example:
There are five Striking Scorpions being attacked, one on one, by 5 Marines. Directly behind each Scorpion is a Banshee. None of the Banshees are in contact with anything, but they are all within 2" of a Marine (one each). The Marines charged.  Do the Banshees attack first (if at all, seeing as how no one in their squad was in contact)?

Strictly speaking they do not fight at all as the Banshee unit is not engaged in close combat by the enemy.

10) A unit (Marines) has some members who reached the enemy (Orks), and an assault was fought. They won, but the enemy passed their Ld test, so it wound up a Drawn Combat. Both units moved up unengaged models (up to 6"), but even with that far a move both units wound up with models not engaged with the enemy.

a) Could the unengaged Orks shoot at the unengaged Marines from the unit?

No they can't. Units shoot at units in 40K, and you can't shoot at a target in close combat.

b) Could the same Orks shoot at another marine squad?

Yes they can.

11) Unit A (Marines) wins a combat, and Unit B (Orks) rolls, say, an 8 to flee. Five inches behind them is a friendly unit C (Gretchin). The Marines elect to pursue, and roll a 10. Do they still run down the Orks, as they did indeed roll higher than the enemy, or do they smack into the Gretchin & the Orks escape behind the Grots? Is it a simple matter of if you roll higher to pursue than the enemy rolled to flee, then they are destroyed, and the pursuers engage fresh enemy if they ran into them?

The Orks are destroyed, and then you make a sweeping advance into the Gretchin. Beating the score "represents the victors shooting the enemy down as they retreat, scattering them beyond recover..." so you don't actually have to catch up with the enemy models, just speed them on their way, as it were.

12) Odd situation: Unit A is fighting Unit B, and Unit A wins. The combat is arranged as illustrated:

BBBBBBB
AAAAAAA

--------------- unit B's table edge

Unit B rolls to fall back, and Unit A pursues. A rolls a lower number than B, but since B had to go through A to measure distance to their table edge, A winds up touching B after measuring it out.

- Is Unit B still run down, as they wind up with A running them down by measurement?

- Or is B still OK, as A did not roll a higher number? And place the models say an inch away from each other?

Bottom line - are you run down if you roll higher, or if you wind up touching, or both?

You are only run down if the opponent rolls higher. If you roll equal to or less than their score, they get away, and you can't move into contact with them. Stop 1" away from them if the move would normally bring you into contact.

This next question revolves around a single rules concept. The question is based on the following quotes:

Quote 1: p63, "Each model base-to-base with an enemy strikes...."

Quote 2: p63, "Models not touching an enemy, but within 2" of one, may make one Attack..." (this does not state that the attack must be against the specific enemy the model is near)

Quote 3: p64, "The dice roll needed depends on the relative Weapon Skills (WS) of the attacker and his foe."

Quote 4: p64, "Where large numbers of combatants have the same characteristics it is often convenient to roll for their attacks
together. Since all of the Space Marines need the same roll to hit and the same roll to wound you may as well roll them together and then allow the Eldar player to allocate the hits..."

Quote 5: p64, "Ordinarily we simply assume that the warrior is contributing his shots and blows to the swirling combat going on. This means we don't have to worry about whether individual models strike their respective opponents in base contact. However, if a model is in base contact with models with varying Weapon Skill and Toughness, it will be necessary to allocate attacks to different targets..."

Quote 6: p65, "...cross reference the attacker's Strength characteristic (S) with the defender's Toughness (T)..."

Quote 7: p65, "Models struck and wounded in close combat can attempt an armour save..."

Quote 8: p66, "Casualties must be removed from the models in base contact with the enemy first, then from models that are fighting near the enemy (ie within 2"). Casualties can only be carried over onto models more than 2" from an enemy where all other models have been slain."

Quote 9: p66, "...it's generally assumed that players will roll all attacks of the same Initiative value together...However, if both players agree you can resolve attacks model by model. In this case simply remove casualties as they occur."

Given the above quotes, some odd things can happen. Here is the question:

13) A Bloodthirster and 3 Bloodletters are lined up one on one each against 4 Terminators with Power Fists. For whatever reason the Chaos player has bad rolls and the Terminators get to attack having taken no losses. The Terminators roll to hit against the opponents they each are touching (quote 3 "his foe"). Because the Bloodthirster has a different WS and T score, the
Terminator touching him must roll his attacks separately from his brothers' (quote 5). The Bloodthirster takes one hit and one Bloodletter is hit. A roll to wound is made against each respective model (quote 6). Not surprisingly they both wound. The Bloodletter fails the save and so does the Bloodthirster (so much for Invulnerable!). Both took their save individually as directed by quote 7. The Bloodthirster was down to one wound left as a result of some previous action. This would seem to make for one dead Bloodletter and one dead Bloodthirster. Yea for the Marines! However, the Chaos player calmly picks up two Bloodletters instead. He has done exactly what he is instructed to do by quote 8. He has removed casualties from models in contact. The rulebook makes no statement along the lines of "casualties must be removed from models in contact with the model that inflicted the wound." Understandably, the Marine player gets upset. He says that his guy was touching the Bloodthirster so he got to attack him (quote 1), he rolled against the Bloodthirster's WS (quote 3), rolled against his Toughness (quote 6), and got past the Bloodthirster's Invulnerable save (quote 7). He feels that the wound should go on the Bloodthirster and asks to be allowed to specify that the attack is worked out on the Bloodthirster. The Chaos player says no, that the Marine player was not touching models of different WS _and_ T (as required to designate an attack by quote 5 " if a model is in contact with..."), and so has no right to specify the Bloodthirster as the victim of the attack, even though the attack was worked out against it. The Marine player then claims the book says he has the right to work out his attacks one model at a time and remove casualties as he goes. The Chaos player pulls out quote 9 and says he does not agree to play that way and would prefer to play the recommended way. He goes on to say that even if he did them one at a time, he could still remove the Bloodletter since quote 9 does not change from where casualties are removed.

You've hit on something which can be a bit confusing at first but its easier to understand if you remember the rules explain fairly simple combats between two units of basic models. In situations where you get opposing forces with different statlines (not just WS & T---Ed.) the easiest thing is to think of each group of models with different statlines as a separate unit. So for example you're fighting an Ork bodyguard comprising a Warboss plus some Gretchin and Nobz. In terms of allocating attacks and taking casualties the Warboss is a unit, Nobz are another unit and the Gretchin are a third unit, even though ordinarily they make up a single unit in game terms. Attacks allocated against the Gretchin unit roll to hit and wound vs the Gretchin statlines, and casualties must be taken from amongst the Grots, likewise for attacks against the Nobz and the Warboss. Characters of any kind also count as a separate unit in close combat even if they are nominally part of a squad (i.e. veteran sergeants). So if a model is in base contact with several enemy 'units' it could allocate attacks against either of them. It is the same for a model within 2" of several enemy units. The allocated attacks will be worked out against the appropriate unit and casualties are taken from there. This broadens the concept of allocating attacks considerably, but works from a principle that is already established in the rules. Note that models with different weapons in a squad (heavy weapons troopers for example), are still just normal models of that unit type, not Characters or "models with different statlines." This means that they can be left in preference to other models being removed unless a character in contact with them attacked and allocated his attacks onto those models.

Army Selection

1) Some transports have a box around them in the army lists. It seems to separate transport entries from the section they are in. Should the location of a transport entry be taken as significant?

No, they are upgrades and as such their 'location' in the list is more a matter of convenient layout than anything else.

2) If a Chaos Lord takes Terminator Armor with one of his wargear options, can he take further options?

No, no further options allowed, like the note says, all of his weapons and equipment are replaced by Terminator armour, power fist and storm bolter.

3) On page 167 there is a rule that states that if you upgrade your weapons, you lose all weapons you started with. Does this mean all the weapons are lost or just some?

You lose *all* the model's original weapons apart from grenades. Note that character wargear is bought in addition to the model's normal weapons, and doesn't replace them.

4) In order to start a second army, and thus a second organization chart, must the first army be totally full?

No, but you must have taken all compulsory choices.

5) If I have two detachments, can I take one using appendix rules and one not?

Yes.

6) If I have two detachments, can I take, say, one Space Marine and one Imperial Guard?

Yes.

Characters

1) Can characters joining a unit increase its size for morale checks (regrouping and casualty morale checks specifically)?

No.

2) If a character is 2" or less to two or more squads, must he designate which one he is in? If so, can he change the designation from turn to turn?

While he may choose to join a squad, he does not have to. He also cannot join two squads at once. Yes, he is free to switch affiliation at the start of each turn.

3) You can't shoot at an Independent Character if he's within 6" of a unit, unless he's the closest model at short range. Does this hold true if the Independent Character is say a Hive Tyrant or Avatar near a unit of small critters (more than twice the height of the unit)?

By the rules this is the case, though as a house rule you might want to allow players to target them.

4) An Independent Character is hanging out with a unit (within 2"), and the unit (10 men) gets hit & takes 6 casualties. Morale test is taken, using the Independent Character's Leadership, and they fail. They all fall back as normal. Next turn rolls around...

- Can the Independent Character declare he is no longer part of the unit, and make a separate test to Regroup, so that if it works he can Regroup on his own while the squad will continue to fall back, as they are below 50%?

- Or is he stuck with them, and can never Regroup as the squad is below 50% Strength?

An independent character can not leave a unit he joins until it regroups (see p76), and therefore if the group can't regroup the character can't leave it!

5) Are VPs for non-independent characters calculated separately, e.g. a Marine Force Commander w/ Command Squad.

Yes.

Chaos

1) When summoning daemons, if the scatter takes them off table, are they lost, as per Deep Strikers?

Yes, Daemons are a variant on Deep Strike troops (in fact they were simply Deep Strike for a long time) so they are lost if they scatter of the table. Note that they can still be used in missions that do not allow Deep Strike.

2) Can a Chaos Sorcerer in Terminator Armour cast Flame of Tzeentch on the same turn that he moved?

No (nice try though).

3) When buying a CSM Predator, is the cost per sponson, or for both sponsons?

Both sponsons.

(Note from Jervis:  Guys, while I deeply appreciate the fact that some of you think that there is a cunning, fluffy reason why I said that Chaos tanks pay extra for each sponson, the real reason is I made a mistake! The cost listed for sponsons in the Chaos list is, like the cost listed for SM sponsons, for the pair, not for each weapon.
Sorry for the confusion...
Jervis Johnson)

Eldar

1) Can you use the Farseer's Runesight power to re-roll Cover Saves or Invulnerable Saves?

No, you can only re-roll shooting to hit rolls or Armour saves.

2) Does the Wraithlord get Cover saves?

Yes (though the cover should be high enough to at least reach its knees!)

3) Can you use meltabombs against the Wraithlord? Krak grenades?

No (but we may address this in Codex Eldar).

4) With the Eldar support platforms joining guardians, do the crew come with normal weapons? May one fire one provided he comes with something?

Yes to both questions.

5) Can you combine the +1 strength modifier of a Mandiblaster with the double strength bonus of a power fist? Do you add the +1 after doubling?

Yes. You add the add +1 after doubling. No matter what a model's strength will not be more than 10.

6) Under the Plasma weapons Get Hot! rule, hot are Eldar grav platforms affected?

Yes.

7) If a Warlock is assigned to squad duty, does he still count as one of the five in the Farseer's Retinue?

No.

8) If Eldar runesight is used to reroll armour saves, do you
A) Reroll one failed armour save per troop
B) Reroll all failed armour saves
C) Reroll failed armour saves from one 'volley'

B.

Orks

1) When orks Mob Up, do you calculate victory points

A) By assuming they all started as one mob
B) By counting each mob that started the game separately

The mob that was falling back counts as being wiped out for vp purposes if it mobs up with another unit. The unit it joins uses its original strength and points values for tests, vps, etc, but counts the extra boyz as members of the unit for things like taking 25% casualties in a turn, or whether the unit is at 50% of its starting strength, etc.

Example: 5 Orks are falling back and mob up with a unit that started with 12 Orks left from a start strength of 15. The 5 Ork unit counts as being wiped out. The new Ork unit has 17 models, will no longer be able to regroup when reduced to 7 (50% of 15, rounding down), and uses its original points cost for vp purposes.

2) If you take two Ork Mad Docs in your Warboss' bodyguard, do you get to ignore two failed saves per turn?

No

Heroes of the Imperium

1) Vindicare Assassin - The Marksman skill states he can pick out heavy weapon troopers, sergeants, etc. Would this mean that if he killed a heavy weapon marine in a tactical squad for example that no other marine could pick up the weapon (i.e., that the heavy weapon is lost to the squad)?

According to page 49, another trooper could pick up the weapon, but this would make the Marksman skill pretty pointless except for acing characters.

This is correct. Vindicares can 'take out' heavy weapon troopers.

Tyranids

1) Tyranid Warriors & Hive Tyrants are not listed as being Fearless, though others near them can ignore Morale checks (Synapse creatures). Are the Warriors & Tyrant themselves able to ignore Morale checks too? Or do they need to check, while others nearby would not?

No, they must check. As intelligent creatures they may decide that discretion is the better part of valor and bug out!

2) Are spore mine explosions considered ORDNANCE weapons? (Codex says ORDNANCE blast, but it's not listed in the ORDNANCE weapons list.)

No

3) Do you need to GUESS range for Biovores? (Codex says GUESS 48", but in the descriptive paragraph, it says to place the spore mine on the table within 48" of the Biovore, and then roll scatter.)

Yes, you must guess the range.

4) When a unit of falling back Tyranids (any Tyranid unit) come into Synapse range, are they:
a) Regrouped AUTOMATICALLY and IMMEDIATELY?
b) Regrouped at the start of next turn regardless of size (less than half original size)?
c) Or, once a Tyranid unit begins to fall back, they follow all normal rules that apply, ignoring Synapse benefits?

None of the above. "Any Tyranid unit with a model within 12" of a Synapse creature automatically passes any... tests to regroup it is required to make, regardless of restrcitions for casualties, enemies nearby, etc."

So, if you are in a situation that allows you to attempt to regroup, as defined by the rules, and there is a Synapse creature within 12", then you regroup.

You do not regroup *automatically* under any other circumstances.

5) May I shoot at a hive tyrant that has joined a squad of termagants, because the termagants do not block Line of Sight to him?

No (you fire at units, not models, and he is part of the Termagant unit).

General Questions

1) Troops deploying from deep strike cannot assault that turn, so what happens if they land in base to base contact?

They must be placed 1" away from the enemy (you're not allowed to move to within 1" of the enemy except in the assault phase).

2) Can troops with jump packs move over enemy troops?

No.

3) Do sniper rifles affect the Wraithlord, Avatar, and Greater Demons.

Yes.

4) Is cover on an ordnance determined
A) In line with the ordinance weapon
B) From the center of the blast

B.

 

Some miscellaneous typo's noticed in the book (fixed in future printings):

P44 - Terrain Effects Table. Boiling Mud & Tar Pits entries should both be 3 stars, not 4 stars
P183 - Dark Eldar Lord. Change pv of Raider from +35 to +55
P185 - Wyches entry. Change pv of Raider from +35 to +55
P186 - Raider Squad entry. Change pv of raider from +35 to +55
P187 - Scourges entry. Change pv of Raider from +35 to +55
P206 - Support Weapon Battery special rule box. Delete line that reads "The support platform can move and fire."
P251 - Ork Stikk Bommas entry. Character para. It costs +10 points to upgrade a Boy to a Nob (!), not +11. <Sadly, they didn't notice the biggest typo IMHO - tim> <g>

 

Questions From Codex Books

Space Marine Codex:

1) The HQ Characters' entry states that they are Independent Characters unless accompanied by a Bodyguard. The Armory section then goes on to list items, and note that many can only be taken by an Independent Character. If the HQ character does take a bodyguard, then is he no longer an Independent Character and therefore cannot take those Independent Character items like Terminator armor?

No, the equipment can be taken by anybody who *may* be an Independent Character.

2) Reading the Armory section, Marines in Power Armor can now take Lightning Claws (1 or 2), Thunder Hammers, and other previously (older editions) Terminator-only items. Is this correct?

Yes, but you'll have to convert up the models yourself!

2a) If so, can they still take items that Terminators cannot take, like grenades? It would seem a kind of cheesy way to get around the "Terminators can't take these" restrictions to take Artificer Armor, Terminator weapons, and items like grenades.

Yes they can. Don't worry, it's not really cheesy in the new game, as characters are not as powerful as before, and (relatively) cost more points.

3) The weapons options for the Land Speeder Tornado changed from the basic rulebook. It can no longer have both the Heavy Bolter & Multi-Melta together. Just wanted to confirm this was correct.

The Space Marine Codex is correct (we weren't sure how the model would go together when the list in the rules was written). In all cases, options presented in the Codex books will over-ride the options in the main Rulebook.

4) If a unit of Marines falls back, and would move through another enemy unit in a Crossfire situation, are they destroyed, or would they automatically regroup & the Crossfiring enemy would count as Assaulting them (with a +1 Attack)?

They are destroyed (they regroup *after* falling back, so are subject to Crossfire).

5) In the Space Marine Codex, there are a few references to the Librarian power, Storm of Destruction, yet there are no rules for it. What are the rules?

Librarians have just the one power, Smite. Storm of Destruction was something that was toyed around with but did not make the final edit. Unfortunately, it was not removed from all areas in the text.

6) A Tech-marine with a Signum allows his command squad to re-roll one failed roll to hit per turn. Can the Marine player wait until his whole squad has fired to see which die he re-rolls?

With re-rolls the convention which we use is that the re-roll must be used before any further dice rolls are made, so you can't 'go back' after rolling to wound or what have you and then decide to use a re-roll to hit.

*******

Expect updates to this as we get more from the Studio, and thanks to everyone (especially Joe Sleboda here at GW & of course Jervis at the Studio) for their work in compiling it.

Tim Huckelbery
Games Workshop USA Customer Service
Give us a call! 1-800-492-8820
And visit the Games Workshop Web Site:
http://www.games-workshop.com

Note: please send Rules Questions to
mailto:[email protected]

And all other mail to:
mailto:[email protected]

Disclaimer: All answers are *unofficial* until they appear in White Dwarf, etc!


Back