My Father

by Annette

Robert D. Gregory, "Bob" to everyone that knew him was a man full of love for his family, his friends and his fellow man. He became a man at 11 when his Dad died and assumed responsibility for his two sisters and brother while his Mom worked and kept a roof over their head. He worked hard all of his life, was married 54 years to my Mom, helped put two children through college and touched so many lives.

We noticed little things at first. He was trying to show my eldest nephew how to cut an angle for a school project and couldn't figure it out....we just laughed it off. He was a craftsman with his woodworking, self taught and took pride in his workmanship. He never complained about feeling bad. at the end, before he went to the hospital and we found out he had CJD he just couldn't get his words to say what he wanted, but he never complained.

We really noticed him going downhill after his son n law that he adored was killed in Desert Storm. He took no interest in the home I was building in Va., didn't even check on the building for me....that was so unlike him. I moved home to Virginia in August 1991 and it's like he was waiting to see I was OK. One day I saw his truck at the store behind their house and he was sitting in it...told me he couldn't remember how to get home. I told him to follow me and I drove him the one block to their house. He never drove again but wouldn't tell Mom why. He'd prepare his Sunday school lesson, he taught a men's class and forget in mid sentence what he was saying...the little things build up.