Betty's Journey of Discovery
by Kris Stanger

Disclaimer: RW and it's characters belong to Rupert Holmes, et al. The rest is just a figment of my imagination and is not meant in any way, shape or form to infringe.

Author's Note: I wrote this story back before the war broke out. I didn't even think about what year it might be. It takes place in some alternate universe I guess. Please forgive any glaring errors. I have no particular knowledge of the era, have done absolutely no research and am not versed in the details of the program as so many of you are. It boils down to laziness on my part. Ha! Fair warning to all the Victor/Betty rooters, you probably won't enjoy this story, but please be nice to me anyway.

Chapter One - Opportunity Blows In

The station was in a state of excitement. Out of the blue, BSO Studios in Hollywood had called. Their biggest star, Veronica Rivers, would be in Pittsburgh promoting her latest movie and they wanted her to make a few promotional appearances on some local radio shows. Much to everyone's delight, WENN had been chosen to be her host for 3 days.

The men were especially excited. Veronica Rivers was a blue-eyed, platinum blonde bombshell with a rubenesque figure. Betty was also thrilled. She knew that this was a real opportunity for WENN and, in addition to rewriting a few of their existing shows with parts for Veronica, she had been feverishly working on a special three-episode love story for Veronica to perform with Jeff.

There was one person at the station however, who was not the least bit excited. Hilary was not at all pleased with the probability of being upstaged by some upstart starlet. She also knew the woman's reputation with men. Veronica Rivers was notorious for falling in love with her leading men and, invariably her leading men fell in love with her. Hilary was not about to let her anywhere near Jeff.