Farma Way

Farma Way

I have just been saddened to learn of Farma Way's untimely death. While he never acheived the ranks of greatness, this fine horse has always held a special place in my heart. Lightly raced at two and three, Farma Way proved himself to be a top class horse as a four year old, winning five graded stakes races and earning well over two million dollars.

In winning the 1991 Santa Anita Handicap he defeated a field which included Festin, future Eclipse Award winner Pleasant Tap, and In Excess. He won the San Antonio Handicap, the San Pasqual Handicap, and the San Carlos Handicap, all grade II events. He was only beaten a neck in the Hollywood Gold Cup, running second to Marquetry with turf champion Itsallgreektome third.

It was in the Pimlico Special, however, that Farma Way earned his rank as one of my favorites. I was enjoying an unscheduled road trip, and found myself about six hours from home with an empty gas tank and no wallet. I was a student at the time, and, as my parents were out of town, there wasn't anyone I could call for a rescue. So, full of teenage wisdom, I took my last two dollars, all in change, to the nearest simulcast location.

I had great faith in the dark bay son of Marfa that day. His west coast campaign had been brilliant, and all he had to do at Pimlico was beat a field that included two classic winners, Summer Squall and Unbridled, as well as the highly regarded Jolie's Halo, who had wintered in Florida, winning the Donn and Gulfstream Park Handicaps.

Farma Way rewarded me for my support, soundly beating Summer Squall and setting a new track record of 1:52 2/5 for a mile and three sixteenths. The time equalled the American record. It was a performance I will never forget. Now with gas money, if not a wallet, I returned home.